We had a little rain in Portland this morning, which means I have some time to make a post to my blog…last Friday, bonsai stand maker Austin Heitzman stopped by to deliver a stand for my tree…

Stand for white pine

That’s Austin on the left and the new apprentice, Andres on the right…we were happy with the fit! For those of you coming to Portland for the Artisans Cup, you will get to inspect Austin’s work close-up in the exhibit…the stand he made for me, plus many other exhibitors in the Cup.

And now is the time for us to remove old needles from the Ponderosas and other pines, and also remove any wires that are biting into the branches…

pondy

The tree is a little big, so I got right up on the bench with it…

pondy

pondy

pondypondy

pondy

pondy

It was getting dark and we had a beautiful sunset that evening…

West Hills SunsetWest Hills Sunset

I hope you enjoyed this short post…now it’s back to the trees!